Can Golfers Wear Two Gloves? — (Golf Gloves for Both Hands)

can golfers wear two gloves and having a golf glove for both hands with golf instructors at tell me more golf

If you look around your golf course, you’ll see golfers wearing one golf glove or sometimes not wearing a glove at all.

Have you ever wondered why golfers don’t wear two gloves, one on each hand? Or, why do they wear a glove on their non-dominant hand?

The Tell Me More Golf team will explain why most golfers don’t wear two gloves, if any professionals do, and when it makes sense to wear two gloves when playing a round of golf.

can golfers wear two gloves and having a golf glove for both hands with golf instructors at tell me more golf

Can Golfers Wear Two Gloves?


Yes, it is perfectly legal for a golfer to wear two gloves if they choose to do so. However, most golfers prefer to wear one glove on their non-dominant hands.

Reasons to Wear Two Gloves

  • Cold Weather
  • Wet Conditions
  • Sweaty Hands
  • Prevent Blisters
  • Prevent Calluses
  • Better Grip

Weather golf gloves such as winter and rain gloves like those made by Titleist, Callaway, FootJoy, and TaylorMade often come in pairs. 

These gloves are made from different materials than leather golf gloves and provide warmth and better grip in cold and wet weather.

SUBSCRIBE  for FREE GOLF TIPS from our EXPERT INSTRUCTORS!


Golfers will typically wear a glove on their non-dominant hand, which for right-handed golfers is their left hand and vice versa for lefty golfers.

The left-handed glove helps a golfer get a good, solid grip on the club so they can swing the club freely without worrying about the club slipping out of their hand.

The dominant, or top hand, is responsible for keeping control of the club and generating power during the swing.

Wearing a glove on the right hand can also interfere with a player’s interlocking or overlapping grip.

SUBSCRIBE  for FREE GOLF TIPS from our EXPERT INSTRUCTORS!

Pro Golfers That Wear 2 Gloves


Tommy “Two Gloves” Gainey and Aaron Rai are the only two professional golfers who routinely wear two gloves.

Tommy Gainey and Aaron Rai started wearing two gloves when they were kids, became comfortable with it, and stuck with doing so over the years.

Tommy Gainey has one PGA Tour win, and three Korn Ferry Tour wins. Aaron Rai has two European Tour wins and three Challenge Tour wins. In wet conditions, Phil Mickelson wore rain gloves at the British Open and the PGA.

There’s a good reason that most pro golfers don’t wear rain gloves even in wet conditions: they have caddies. Their caddies carry umbrellas and towels and keep a player’s hands, and grips dry between shots.

Most amateurs don’t have this luxury when they play in wet weather conditions, and their grips will get wet. With wet grips on golf clubs, the only way to hold onto the golf club is by wearing rain gloves.

Why Most Golfers Don’t Wear Two Golf Gloves


Most golfers don’t wear two gloves because they get a better feel of the golf club without a glove on their dominant hand. For a right-handed golfer, the left hand is the one in which the golf club is held firmly by the golf grip. 

On shots around the green and when they putt, many golfers prefer not to wear a glove to get a better feel for the club.

FAQ Section


Can You Wear a Golf Glove on Both Hands?

Yes, you can wear a golf glove on both hands. While it’s not common to see on professional tours, many amateur players wear two gloves because it gives them a better grip on the club.

Many golfers also wear winter gloves in cold weather and rain gloves in wet conditions. 

While they may lose some feel of the club wearing two gloves, having warm, dry hands is often worth it. 

Rain, winter, and weather gloves often come as a pair of gloves with one glove for each hand.

Do Any Golfers Wear 2 Gloves?

Tommy “Two Gloves” Gainey and Aaron Rai are the only two professional golfers who consistently wear two gloves in competition. Both picked up the habits when they were children and continued to wear two gloves as they got older, and they moved on to professional golf tours.

Why Do Golfers Not Wear Two Gloves?

Most golfers don’t wear two gloves as a matter of personal preference. Instead, most golfers prefer to wear a golf glove on their non-dominant hand, or not at all. 

Many golfers think wearing a glove on their right hand takes away some of the feeling of the club during the swing. This lack of sensation can make the grip in the right hand too strong, which can result in closing the clubface and pulling shots.

Conclusion: Research by Tellmemoregolf.com

black tell me more golf compressed logo with mottled background information for golfers

Most golfers wear a glove on their non-dominant or bottom hand that grips the butt of the golf club or don’t wear a glove at all. 

It’s entirely legal to wear two gloves, and for most golfers who don’t have a caddy to keep their grips dry, it makes sense to wear rain gloves in wet conditions. Wearing two gloves is also an excellent idea for golfers who get blisters easily or have excessively sweaty hands.

Only a couple of professional golfers consistently wear two gloves when they play and have had some success on their respective tours.

The best golf gloves will give a golfer a consistent grip and feel and the confidence to swing the club freely without slipping from their hand.

If you are comfortable wearing two golf gloves, then there’s no reason not to when you’re playing golf.

SUBSCRIBE  for FREE GOLF TIPS from our EXPERT INSTRUCTORS!

Get FREE GOLF TIPS from our EXPERT INSTRUCTORS!

tell me more golf instructor patrick corley teaching golfing tips and advice for visitors